Speakers

Begums and Maids: A History of the Deccan through its Female Protagonists, September 10th, 2021 at 1 PM London (8 AM New York, 5:30 PM Mumbai)

Manu Pillai

Manu S. Pillai is the author of The Ivory Throne (2015), Rebel Sultans (2018), and The Courtesan, the Mahatma & the Italian Brahmin (2019). Formerly chief of staff to Shashi Tharoor M.P., he is also a winner of the Sahitya Akademi Yuva Puraskar (2017). He is currently studying for a PhD at King’s College London. His fourth book releases in September 2021.

 

Court politics in the Vijayanagara successor states, with special reference to Ikkeri, September 24th, 2021 at 1 PM London (8 AM New York, 5:30 PM Mumbai)

Lennart Bes

Lennart Bes is an Indologist and historian studying political culture in south India. He teaches Asian history, Dutch overseas history, and archival studies at Leiden University. He has published about early modern south Indian kingdoms and Dutch sources on Asia. He is presently working on the courts of Malabar.

 

Monumental Jinas and Networks of Prestige: Jain Temples of the Hoysala Capital, October 22nd, 2021 at 3 PM London (10 AM New York, 7:30 PM Mumbai)

Katherine Kasdorf

Katherine E. Kasdorf is Associate Curator of Arts of Asia and the Islamic World at the Detroit Institute of Arts (DIA). She received her Ph.D. in South Asian art history from Columbia University in 2013, completing a dissertation on temples of the Hoysala capital in Halebidu, Karnataka. At the DIA, she collaborated with colleagues on the reinstallation of the Asian collection, opening new galleries in November 2018.

 

A Victory Tower Built by a Slave: The Chand Minar at Daulatabad, November 12th, 2021 at 2 PM London (9 AM New York, 7:30 PM Mumbai)

Mohit Manohar

Mohit Manohar is an Andrew W. Mellon Fellow at the Center for Advanced Study in the Visual Arts and a Ph.D. Candidate in the History of Art department at Yale University. His dissertation, The City of Gods and Fortune, analyzes the architectural and urban history of Daulatabad between the thirteenth and the fifteenth centuries. Mohit’s research has appeared in Muqarnas and in catalogs from the Yale Center for British Art and the Indian Institute of Contemporary Arts, Mumbai. His public-facing scholarship has appeared in Live History India. Mohit also writes fiction and his short stories have appeared in Best Debut Short Stories, Nimrod, The Los Angeles Review, among other venues.

 

Fragrant Stories: The Buddhist Landscape of the Early Deccan, November 19th, 2021 at 3 PM London (10 AM New York, 8:30 PM Mumbai) 

John Guy

John Guy is Curator of South and Southeast Asian Art at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, with research interests in the temple arts of the Hindu-Buddhist-Jain traditions, and in the ceramic and textile trade of the Indian Ocean diaspora. His recent major exhibitions include Interwoven Globe (2013) and Lost Kingdoms. Hindu-Buddhist Sculpture of Early Southeast Asia (2014)He joined the Met's Asian Department in 2008 after 22 years at the Victoria and Albert Museum, London, where he was Senior Curator of Indian Art, with responsibility for the sculpture collections.

 

Bahmani Architecture and Culture: The Tomb of Ahmad Shah in Bidar,

Helen Philon (DHF) and Vivek Gupta (University of Cambridge) in conversation with Sara Mondini (Ca' Foscari University of Venice), December 3rd, 2021 at 1 PM London (8 AM New York, 6:30 PM Mumbai)

Sara Mondini

Sara Mondini is adjunct professor and temporary research fellow at the Venice Ca’ Foscari University (Italy). She hold a PhD in Oriental Studies from Venice Ca’ Foscari University (2009) and since 2009 she has been adjunct professor of Art History of India and Central Asia (BA), South Asian Visual Culture (BA) and Indian Modern and Contemporary Art (MA) at the same university. Since 2016 she is also adjunct professor at the FIT-Fashion Institute of Technology at Milan Politecnico, Milano (Italy) where she teaches Art and Civilization of the Islamic World (BA) and East Asian Art and Civilization (BA).

Helen Philon

Helen Philon is an archaeologist, scholar and lifelong academic with a M.Ph. in Pre-Islamic Art from the School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London; and wrote her PhD thesis on Bahmani architecture in the Deccan at the same institution. She has worked in the Middle East and South Asia, travelling extensively throughout these regions, and published a long list of works on architecture and ceramics.

Vivek Gupta

Dr Vivek Gupta is Postdoctoral Associate in Islamic Art (2020-2023) at the Centre of Islamic Studies at the University of Cambridge where he is also affiliated with Jesus College. He completed his PhD at SOAS, University of London, with a thesis entitled, Wonder Reoriented: Manuscripts and Experience in Islamicate Societies of South Asia (ca. 1450--1600).

 

To register for the webinars, please visit Registration.

If you have any queries, please write to deccanheritagefoundationindia@gmail.com.